The dark-brown puppy

The car lights shone on the little dark-brown puppy staggering out of seemingly nowhere and into the road last evening. It was hard to tell where it had appeared from. There is a banana plantation and a bit of a shrub that surround the road on both sides. I spotted the puppy and stopped and so did the coaster that was coming from the opposite direction. We had reached a spot on the road in my neighborhood where only one car can pass at a time.

Image source: warrenphotographic.co.uk

Confused and dazzled by the car lights mingling with the setting darkness, the little puppy wandered around, from the front of the car, went under to the side of the wheels, and back to the front. I looked up from the window to the driver of the coaster signaling me wondering what was happening. He had spotted it too, hence parking his car. A cue of cars was forming behind me but surprisingly, no one hooted impatiently as would be the case normally. I told him what I was witnessing under and in front of his car. Had he moved an inch, chances were high that he would have crushed the puppy.

The coaster driver disembarked to the ground, he pulled out his phone from his trouser pocket and started looking under the car for the puppy.

I passed and went home but as I left that spot, lots of thoughts flooded my head. Thoughts like where had that pup left its mother, was the mother looking for it, could I have rescued it and took it home with me but also realized how impulsive that would have been. I don’t know anything about taking care of dogs let alone a puppy. Never in my whole life have I lived with dogs. I thought, maybe I could hack it, and find all sorts of resources on the internet about being a dog mum. I thought of turning back but what was going to if I did, I wasn’t sure so I went on home, holding to hope and belief that the little puppy found its mother or that the mother found it.

Many hours later, the image of the little puppy keeps popping in and out of my head, I wonder if the universe is trying to tell me something?

I am curious about people like me who have no experience with dogs but only love them from a distance, what made you come around to getting and keeping a dog? Maybe there is a dog somewhere in my future….

2 Comments

Leave a comment