April in Moments! Welcoming the Miracles of May..

Yesterday (30th April 2023), I had a long enjoyable bus ride of over an hour. I was travelling from Sherwood back to Nottingham city centre. My regular bus rides are usually shorter, under 30 minutes.

Typical of Sundays, there weren’t many private cars on the road or as many buses, and neither were people. The streets were empty, and an occasional car would pass and with a bit of sun outside, there were sightings of people having lazy breakfast on their patios. I enjoyed being on that bus, watching out at the flowery trees, the fields in the distance, and the houses. I soaked it all in and felt my mind quiet down as I took in my surroundings. I day dreamed a little but I also remember thinking that that’s how I want May to be be. To look outside more with intention of seeing beauty. To look outside of windows of a moving car, buildings and day dream as opposed to having my head buried in my phone or other distracting things that make me forget about the beauty of life and how miraculous it is to be alive, healthy and with dreams.

With that, I will share a few moments from April

1st picture: It is not an anomaly to see people run after a bus. I found it strange at first but not anymore as I have run after buses a couple of times already. I dashed out of the house only to see the bus coming down the slope and with a bit of a distance to the bus stop, I kind of knew it would leave me. As it approached, I contemplated running or resigning to wait for the next one. I attempted to run but gave up and I think the driver noticed. As the bus passed me, he signalled questioning if I was headed into the city, I nodded. While he couldn’t stop for me to board before the stage, he slowed down so I ran well knowing I would catch it and I did. I entered with the driver apologizing saying he couldn’t stop. He did not have to slow down or even care that I was trying to chase the bus, but his kind gesture incredibly touched me and kind of turned around my day. I felt like I was seeing everything that day in colour.

2nd Picture: The second picture is one of the school buildings. I have sat on that spot many times but not paid attention to anything but this day, I looked out the window. For a moment I stared and I watched cars pass by, I remembered the very first day I sat in that spot. Then everything was a marvel because it was new. Months later, having walked that street I was seeing from the window countless times, and seating in that spot, I stopped paying attention to any of it because it became ordinary. I stopped feeling grateful that being in that spot was special.

1st Pic: If you have been on this blog for a while then you know of my love for sunrises and sunsets. I noticed this beautifully lit sky about a week ago just before I entered a grocery store and my evening was made.

2nd pic: Love me some Java House Coffee. Someone from home brought me this to me and my mornings, day times and evenings are better because of it. And yes, I can drink coffee and not struggle to find sleep..aheemm.

Ist Pic: Titchfield Park in Mansfield. It is a small but beautiful park with a stream running through and some exercise equipment spread out. What a wonderful concept to have in the community and ensure people are active when they go out.

2nd Pic: Took this around after 9 pm while walking to a friend’s house in the neighbourhood for drinks, conversation, and unwinding. It was a Friday and that get evening was something I did not know I needed. It was pleasant.

These moments remind me that it is not enough to live life but to thrive in it and that happens not just in the big moments but even in the smallest and seemingly mundane ones. What were your moments of April??

And with that I sign off this post with the below profound quote for me but also hoping that it sparks something for you too reader. With that, hello May, welcome!

“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.”

 Albert Einstein

Leave a comment